The only person that can delete a user account in a WordPress Multisite environment is a network administrator. However, be sure that you want to do this before deleting a user. This is because if you delete a user account you will also delete all their blog postsalong with them. Therefore, the simplest thing to do when a member of staff leaves is to edit their profile and make two amendments. The first is to change their email address to a dummy email and the second is to change their password. The former removes their ability to recover a lost password and the latter revokes their access to the system.
It is important to note that if the member of staff leaving is also a network administrator you should revoke their network administrator privileges by unticking the box on their profile.
To access any user’s profile go to:
Network Admin > Users
Note: use the search box at top right to quickly locate a specific user account.
- Do not delete them;
- Change their email address on their profile to a dummy email;
- Change their password.